Qualified Remodeler Magazine

FEB 2019

Qualified Remodeler helps independent remodeling firms to survive, become more professional and more profitable by providing must-have business information, namely best business practices, new product information and timely design ideas.

Issue link: https://qualifiedremodeler.epubxp.com/i/1082079

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 6 of 70

Process and Profit Patrick L. O'Toole Embracing new technology, and in effect embracing the future, is not always easy. It's hard to argue with those who see the fun- damentals of remodeling as immutable and unchanging, so why risk trying something new? With this story, we begin to make that argument. Companies in this industry who generate leads more efficiently, sell jobs quicker, compress project timelines, and create more positive customer experiences are already seeing gains. Those who stick only with current tried-and-true methods will find that their costs continually rise. And if they are calcu- lating their markups and margins properly, they will find it neces- sary to increase their prices. Meanwhile, they will also find it increasingly difficult to compete against firms who are improving their processes, hold- ing the line on costs, shortening their cycle times and potentially increasing the amount of jobs their team can sell and complete in a given year. I think we stand on the precipice of great change in the business of remodel- ing and home improvement. This is not a bold statement. There is too much evidence supporting that assertion. The question is which companies in the industry will be leading the charge. There is certainly some risk in waiting. SPEND FIVE MINUTES with System Pavers CEO Larry Green and you will likely see the future of home improvement differently. Green, who built his California-based out- door living company into a regional jugger- naut, is a big-picture guy who does not mind being on the leading edge of new technolo- gy. He's interviewed in our Remodel of the Future story this month, which is written by our managing editor Kacey Larsen. Green's ideas and those of many other remodelers will open your eyes to new ways to conduct business in the future. Yes, homes of the future will certainly incorporate a lot of technology; they will, in fact, be smarter and more efficient. But that is not the focus of this story. Instead, we focus on ways remodelers foresee using emerging technology to improve and simplify the pro- cess of remodeling. Are there ways to make the customer experience better? Yes, real-time video and automated messaging to report job progress are already here. Will technology help us more quickly identify qualified prospects and waste less time with tire kickers? There are algorithms that can zero-in on the right neighborhoods and households who meet your criteria. The future also involves design efficiencies gained in visualizers that incorporate augmented re- ality and virtual reality. None of these ideas make sense unless they positively impact your bottom line, and early indications are they can. That's partly why we are so excited about this topic. I THINK WE STAND ON THE PRECIPICE OF GREAT CHANGE IN THE BUSINESS OF REMODELING AND HOME IMPROVEMENT. EDITORIAL DIRECTOR'S NOTE 6 February 2019 QualifiedRemodeler.com A preferred publication of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry and the NAHB Remodelers Published by SOLA Group, Inc. 1880 Oak Ave., Suite 350 Evanston, IL 60201 847.4 40.3000 Publisher and Patrick L. O'Toole Editorial Director Patrick@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 103 Senior Editor Kyle Clapham Kyle@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 107 Managing Editor Kacey Larsen Kacey@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 105 Contributing Editor Chuck Ross Audience Development Mike Serino Mike@SOLAbrands.com Creative & Production Director Tracy Hegg Tracy@SOLAbrands.com Senior Graphic Designer Erika Nygaard Erika@SOLAbrands.com Editorial Advisory Board Stephen Gidley, GMB, CAPS, CGP, CGB, CGR, CPRC, CR Jeffrey Holloway, CKD, CBD, CGR Michael Nagel, CGR, CAPS Scott R. Sevon, CGR, CAPS, GMB, CGP, GMR Donna Shirey, CGR, CAPS, CGP Kenneth P. Skowronski, CR Publisher/ Paul DeGrandis West Sales Manager Paul@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 100 Midwest Sales Manager Jessica Fidrocki Jessica@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 117 Midwest Sales Manager Zach Stenberg Zach@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 115 Midwest Sales Manager David Ayala David@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 119 East Sales Manager Dan Miklosz DanM@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 118 Southeast Sales Manager Dan Agostinacchio Dan@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 101 National Automotive Sales Tom Lutzke TLutzke@ACBusinessMedia.com Product Showcase Mike Serino Mike@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 102 Digital Programs Manager Tim Steingraber Tim@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 106 Projects Manager Heidi Riedl Heidi@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 111 Subscriptions QR Circulation Dept. (866) 932-5904 QualifiedRemodeler@omeda.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Qualified Remodeler Magazine - FEB 2019