Qualified Remodeler Magazine

DEC 2018

Qualified Remodeler helps independent remodeling firms to survive, become more professional and more profitable by providing must-have business information, namely best business practices, new product information and timely design ideas.

Issue link: https://qualifiedremodeler.epubxp.com/i/1060304

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 4 of 56

TOP 500 LIVE, now in its third year, moves to Las Vegas in 2019. Our agenda features some of the best minds from within home improve- ment and new ideas from outside the industry. Our keynote speaker this year has generated 700,000 views on YouTube for one of his TED Talks. Scott Hess is the chief marketing offi- cer at Publicis Media agency Spark Foundry, where he will help oversee $40 billion in new and old media spending next year. He will lay it out for you—where the dollars flowing. And as an expert in understanding today's 20- and 30-somethings, Hess will also offer ideas for attracting and retaining top talent in this age cohort. And more importantly, how to market and sell to them. Crushing it today is not about hunkering down. It's about the opposite. It's about com- mitting to pushing out your message, your content and your mission to as many of your target customers as possible. And when you make that push, there is the potential for some magic. ere is the potential for your brand to be elevated in unexpected ways. We invite you to join us at TOP 500 LIVE in 2019. To learn more, go to QRTOP500LIVE.com. rom this vantage point at the end of 2018, looking ahead to the coming year, 2019 is shaping up to be an amazing ride. My advice: Run fast or get out of the way. Here's why. ere are so many competing forces. Demand for services is strong, but the cost of leads is rising. Traditional lead sources like canvassing and home shows are holding steady, and they sometimes offer higher clos- ing percentages. Yet new lead sources—paid social, stickier websites, content marketing, etc.—hold enormous potential, with a host of unknowns. How much you are willing to invest in internet advertising will certainly be a factor in your success next year. Meanwhile, the quest for additional sales and installation talent goes on. Attract the best and you can grow, but it will cost you. Prices for labor (and ma- terials) are rising. And amidst it all in this soup of positive and negative drivers, a group of entrepreneurs—perhaps one of your competitors—will bust through previous norms to deliver superla- tive results next year. ey will blend the right mix of strategy and execution to grow dynami- cally while dropping 15 percent or more to the bottom line. In the jargon of today's youth, they will be "crushing it." Here's the question we are asking everyone considering whether to attend our annual sales and marketing conference, TOP 500 LIVE, this coming March: Will you be crushing it in 2019? In every changing market, we've seen where some companies hunker down while others push forward with well-considered bets on new people, new technology and new methods. Crushing It in Vegas This March F TOP 500 LIVE Keynote Speaker Scott Hess Hess is the Chief Marketing Officer at Publicis Media agency Spark Foundry. 4 December 2018 QR QualifiedRemodeler.com EDITORIAL DIRECTOR'S NOTE Patrick L. O'Toole A preferred publication of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry and the NAHB Remodelers Published by SOLA Group, Inc. 1880 Oak Ave., Suite 350 Evanston, IL 60201 847.440.3000 Publisher and Patrick L. O'Toole Editorial Director Patrick@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 103 Senior Editor Kyle Clapham Kyle@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 107 Managing Editor Kacey Larsen Kacey@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 105 Audience Development Mike Serino Mike@SOLAbrands.com Creative Director & Tracy Hegg Production Manager Tracy@SOLAbrands.com Senior Graphic Designer Erika Nygaard Erika@SOLAbrands.com Editorial Advisory Board Stephen Gidley, GMB, CAPS, CGP, CGB, CGR, CPRC, CR Jeffrey Holloway, CKD, CBD, CGR Michael Nagel, CGR, CAPS Scott R. Sevon, CGR, CAPS, GMB, CGP, GMR Donna Shirey, CGR, CAPS, CGP Kenneth P. Skowronski, CR Midwest and West Paul DeGrandis Sales Manager Paul@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 100 Midwest Sales Manager Jessica Fidrocki Jessica@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 117 Midwest Sales Manager Zach Stenberg Zach@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 115 Southeast Sales Manager Dan Agostinacchio Dan@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 101 Strategic Accounts Joanne Naylor Joanne@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 114 National Automotive Tom Lutzke Sales TLutzke@ACBusinessMedia.com Product Showcase/ Mike Serino Classifieds Mike@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 102 Digital Programs Tim Steingraber Manager Tim@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 106 Projects Manager Heidi Riedl Heidi@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 111 Subscriptions QR Circulation Dept. (866) 932-5904 QualifiedRemodeler@omeda.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Qualified Remodeler Magazine - DEC 2018