Qualified Remodeler Magazine

AUG 2018

Qualified Remodeler helps independent remodeling firms to survive, become more professional and more profitable by providing must-have business information, namely best business practices, new product information and timely design ideas.

Issue link: https://qualifiedremodeler.epubxp.com/i/1017161

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 91

1. Increased sophistication of products and process. In 1978, the construction process was leaner and more straightforward. ere were fewer regulations. Plus, "the number of available selections for a project was much narrower. e number of faucets, sinks [and] countertop options were much, much fewer than today." 2. e emergence of a design/build business model. is process transformed Neil Kelly and many other leading remodeling firms, such as Case Design & Remodeling in Washington, D.C. Longtime design sales consultant Martha Kerr pioneered the pro- cess for the company, and the success of the process ultimately led Neil Kelly to build kitchen and bath showrooms. 3. Green and energy efficiency. Since the early '90s, the movement toward green remodel- ing, sustainable products and energy-efficient building has transformed the business, Tom says. It's become part of the company's DNA, and the industry at large is remarkably green- er. During the great recession, many firms including Neil Kelly followed a raft of gov- ernment incentives and tax credits into the offering of energy evaluations and retrofits. As the credits sunset, the air-sealing and in- sulation best practices remain. As we wrapped up our conversation, numer- ous recognitions of work anniversaries were an- nounced. Several employees have been with Neil Kelly for decades. e importance of building and retaining a great team is something that has not changed. It was true then and perhaps even more so today. | PORTLAND, ORE. —Only a handful of firms can lay claim to 40 consecutive years on Qualified Remodeler's Top 500 list. Among them is Neil Kelly Company, which has been around a lot longer. It was founded in 1947, offering foundations and driveways. is year, they are the No. 38 company in the country with $32.7 million in revenue on a diverse array of 1,386 jobs, from solar cells to a $1.3 million design/build project. My recent visit to Neil Kelly HQ coincided with a 7:30 a.m. quarterly breakfast for car- penters and superintendents in the parking lot behind their Alberta Street office. It was a sparkling summer morning, and managers laid out a spread of eggs, bacon, pancakes and waffles for the honored guests, who caught up with colleagues and company news. It was there, before all the announcements and giveaways, that company president Tom Kelly tried to sum up for me all the differenc- es between the remodeling business then and now. Tom's tenure began nearly 40 years ago in 1979 when his dad had a risky heart bypass operation and was told by doctors to step back from the business. Neil later recovered and immersed himself in the founding of NARI. Suffice it to say, a lot has changed. Here's Tom's top three remodeling business changes in no particular order. Remodeling Then and Now Tom Kelly, president, Neil Kelly Company 6 August 2018 QR QualifiedRemodeler.com EDITORIAL DIRECTOR'S NOTE Patrick L. O'Toole Published by SOLA Group, Inc. 1880 Oak Ave., Suite 350 Evanston, IL 60201 847.440.3000 Publisher and Patrick L. O'Toole Editorial Director Patrick@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 103 Senior Editor Kyle Clapham Kyle@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 107 Managing Editor Kacey Larsen Kacey@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 105 Audience Development Donna Heuberger Donna@SOLAbrands.com Creative Director & Tracy Hegg Production Manager Tracy@SOLAbrands.com Senior Graphic Designer Erika Nygaard Erika@SOLAbrands.com Editorial Advisory Board Stephen Gidley, GMB, CAPS, CGP, CGB, CGR, CPRC, CR Jeffrey Holloway, CKD, CBD, CGR Michael Nagel, CGR, CAPS Scott R. Sevon, CGR, CAPS, GMB, CGP, GMR Donna Shirey, CGR, CAPS, CGP Kenneth P. Skowronski, CR Midwest and West Paul DeGrandis Sales Manager Paul@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 100 Midwest Sales Manager Jessica Fidrocki Jessica@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 117 East Sales Manager Jon Catano Jon@SOLAbrands.com (786) 447-1260 National Automotive Tom Lutzke Sales TLutzke@ACBusinessMedia.com Product Showcase/ Mike Serino Classifieds Mike@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 102 Digital Programs Tim Steingraber Manager Tim@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 106 Projects Manager Heidi Riedl Heidi@SOLAbrands.com Ext. 111 Subscriptions QR Circulation Dept. (866) 932-5904 QualifiedRemodeler@omeda.com A preferred publication of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry and the NAHB Remodelers

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Qualified Remodeler Magazine - AUG 2018