Qualified Remodeler Magazine

JUN 2015

Qualified Remodeler helps independent remodeling firms to survive, become more professional and more profitable by providing must-have business information, namely best business practices, new product information and timely design ideas.

Issue link: http://qualifiedremodeler.epubxp.com/i/532719

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 51

regulatory activities afecting small businesses. Lately we've been talking a lot about how best to comply with the RRP "Lead Paint" rule. Also, as an industry, worker safety is a high priority. Yet violations are reported every day throughout the country. It seems that OSHA, EPA and a number of other government agen- cies are stepping up their enforcement eforts. Regulatory enforcement is indeed a priority in Washington. Te Obama Administration re- cently earmarked another $10 million in grants from unemployment insurance funds to increase enforcement of worker misclassif - cation violations. In the end, en- forcement of rules and regulations is a boost for qualifed remodelers who play by the rules and who raise the level of professionalism in the industry. At the same time, it is the true remodeling professional who of- ten bears the yoke of new regulatory schemes. Trunk slammers don't care. Tey are on to the next job and the next town. Qualifed Remodeler editors are already at work on a package of stories for the October issue of the magazine that will assist remodelers in their eforts to comply with federal, state and local regulations. It is our answer to the reality of the "lightening round." Te easier we help make it for you to deal with compliance, the more time you have for selling jobs, satisfying customers and delivering a quality experience and work product. | ASHINGTON, D.C. — Each spring the NAHB conducts its board of directors meetings here, where committee and subcommittee work gets done. I've been at- tending these meetings for 15 years. My focus is the NAHB Remodelers but occasionally I will venture into the activities of the larger association. Tis time, I poured a strong cup and plunked down in the Federal Government Afairs committee, hoping to glean news that might affect remodelers. Instead of one or two relevant topics, I was met with a tor- rent of updates from their policy and lob- bying staf that could and will adversely im- pact remodelers. In the committee, they call it the Lightening Round — quick updates on the ev- er-changing legisla- tive and regulatory world. The topics ranged from worker-reclassifcation enforce- ment and new rules on overtime thresholds (see "In Brief," page 8) to new healthcare insurance burdens on employers and stepped-up patent enforcement on home designs. Remodelers tend to be optimistic, but 90 minutes in this meeting would certainly leave most concerned, if not worried. Incidentally, NARI ofcials also do a crack job of staying on top of these issues and de- ploying their lobbyist in Washington. Te point is you really need an army of lobbyists these days to stay on top of the legislative and Lightening Round W The point is you really need an army of lobbyists these days to stay on top of the legislative and regulatory activities afecting small businesses. EDITORIAL DIRECTOR'S NOTE 6 June 2015 QR QualifiedRemodeler.com | ForResidentialPros.com Patrick L. O'Toole Published by SOLA Group, Inc. 724 12th Street, 1W, Wilmette, IL 60091 847.920.9513 Publisher and Patrick L. O'Toole Editorial Director Patrick@SOLAbrands.com Managing Editor Laurie Banyay Laurie@SOLAbrands.com Assistant Editor Kacey Larsen Kacey@SOLAbrands.com Proofreader Nancy Mueller=Truax ForResidentialPros.com Andrea Girolamo Editor Andrea@SOLAbrands.com Audience Development Mike Serino MSerino@magservgroup.com Creative Director & Tracy Hegg Production Manager Tracy@SOLAbrands.com Graphic Designer Cathy Petersen Editorial Advisory Board Stephen Gidley, GMB, CAPS, CGP, CGB, CGR, CPRC, CR Jeffrey Holloway, CKD, CBD, CGR Michael Nagel, CGR, CAPS Scott R. Sevon, CGR, CAPS, GMB, CGP, GMR Donna Shirey, CGR, CAPS, CGP Kenneth P. Skowronski, CR Group Sales Director Paul DeGrandis Midwest Manager Paul@SOLAbrands.com West Sales Manager Reed Fry Reed@fry-comm.com National Automotive Tom Lutzke Sales TLutzke@ACBusinessMedia.com Literature Galleries/ Nancy Campoli Classifieds Nancy@SOLAbrands.com Digital Programs Tim Steingraber Manager Tim@SOLAbrands.com Operations Marie Snow Manager Marie@SOLAbrands.com A preferred publication of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry and the NAHB Remodelers

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Qualified Remodeler Magazine - JUN 2015