Qualified Remodeler Magazine

DEC 2014

Qualified Remodeler helps independent remodeling firms to survive, become more professional and more profitable by providing must-have business information, namely best business practices, new product information and timely design ideas.

Issue link: http://qualifiedremodeler.epubxp.com/i/439340

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 6 of 52

the NAHB's best-selling book Te Residential Construction Performance Guidelines, now in its 10th edition. To Bell, there was no greater satisfaction than knowing that a job was get- ting correctly done, for the beneft of everyone, but mainly the client. Te 2014 NAHB Remodeler of the Year, pro- fled in the pages of this edition of Qualifed Remodeler, Tim Ellis of T.W. Ellis LLC in Bel Air, Md., is a lot like Bob. He pursues profes- sional knowledge relentlessly, thus the six-plus designations that adorn his email signature line. Here's the quote of the story, the one that says it all about the value of earning professional designations. "It is paying of for me because I know when I sit down with clients I am giving them the best that I can possibly give them," says Ellis, a CGR, MCGP, CAPS, among oth- er designations. "Regardless of wheth- er the client sees value in it or not, I know that I am doing the right thing for my business and for that client. So when I leave there, I can sleep at night knowing that I gave them everything that I could professionally give them. Tey have great drawings. Tey have a great estimate. And it is what it should be." Real professional confdence comes from knowing that you know. Bell subscribed to that school of thought. Ten years later so does Ellis. Education is the link between great NAHB Remodeler of the Year recipients. | ualifed Remodeler magazine has profled NAHB Remodelers of the Year since 2004. Tat year the re- cipient of the award and the sub- ject of our December cover story was Bob Bell, CGR, of Bell's Remodeling in Duluth, Minn. I recall traveling to Duluth in October to interview Bell and being struck by two things. First, that I should have packed warmer cloth- ing. Beautiful as it is, nestled on the shores of Lake Superior, Duluth can be cold most months of the year, except perhaps in August. Secondly, I was struck by a view of what Bell described as his entire service area from one precipice overlooking the city. Bell famously only serviced homes in an 8-square-mile area. He ran a very solid business sustained by legions of satis- fed customers who continually hired him again or who referred his company to others. Bell, who is hap- pily retired now, is a real educator. He taught high school in the Twin Cities before heading back to Duluth with his young family and launching his remodeling business. Learning and teach- ing and earning designations never stopped for Bell. He was active in industry education at the state and national level throughout his career. He was also a stickler for the dissemination of proper construction guidelines. In fact, he was on the team of devoted volunteers, includ- ing the late Bob Merz who vetted and wrote A source of real confdence Q " It is paying of for me because I know when I sit down with clients I am giving them the best that I can possibly give them. " 2014 NAHB Remodeler of the Year, Tim Ellis of T.W. Ellis LLC EDITORIAL DIRECTOR'S NOTE 6 December 2014 QR ForResidentialPros.com Published by SOLA Group, Inc. 724 12th Street, 1W, Wilmette, IL 60091 847.920.9513 Publisher and Patrick L. O'Toole Editorial Director Patrick@SOLAbrands.com Managing Editor Laurie Banyay Laurie@SOLAbrands.com Assistant Editor Kacey Larsen Kacey@SOLAbrands.com Proofreader Nancy Mueller=Truax ForResidentialPros.com Andrea Girolamo Editor Andrea@SOLAbrands.com Audience Development Mike Serino MSerino@magservgroup.com Creative Director & Tracy Hegg Production Manager Tracy@SOLAbrands.com Editorial Advisory Board Stephen Gidley, GMB, CAPS, CGP, CGB, CGR, CPRC, CR Jeffrey Holloway, CKD, CBD, CGR Michael Nagel, CGR, CAPS Scott R. Sevon, CGR, CAPS, GMB, CGP, GMR Donna Shirey, CGR, CAPS, CGP Kenneth P. Skowronski, CR Group Sales Director Paul DeGrandis Midwest Manager Paul@SOLAbrands.com West Reed Fry Reed@fry-comm.com East and Southeast Vaughn Rockhold Vaughn@SOLAbrands.com National Automotive Tom Lutzke Sales TLutzke@ACBusinessMedia.com Literature Galleries/ Nancy Campoli Classifieds Nancy@SOLAbrands.com Digital Programs Tim Steingraber Manager Tim@SOLAbrands.com Administration Marie Snow Coordinator Marie@SOLAbrands.com A preferred publication of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry and the NAHB Remodelers Patrick L. O'Toole

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Qualified Remodeler Magazine - DEC 2014